Board of Directors

ESDs are governed by a lay board of directors consisting of seven or nine citizens who are accountable to and elected by the school board members in the region's public school districts. The board members represent geographic director districts based on US Census data.
The ESD boards provide direction to their superintendent who is advised by local school district superintendents. This group generally advises on budgetary, program policy, and staff members.

Charles Crabtree

Charles Crabtree
District 1
School Districts Represented:
Bellingham, Meridian


Board Member Dr. Jack Thompson

Dr. Jack Thompson
District 2
School Districts Represented:
Blaine, Ferndale, Lopez, Lynden, Mount Baker, Nooksack Valley, Orcas Island, San Juan Island, Shaw Island

Jack is a retired educator/administrator from Renton, Ferndale, and Snohomish school districts as well as Seattle University and Saint Martin’s University.

Board Member Mark Venn

Mark Venn
District 3
School Districts Represented
: Anacortes, Burlington-Edison, Concrete, Conway, Darrington, La Conner, Mount Vernon, Sedro-Woolley

Mark is former Superintendent for the Sedro-Woolley School District and has volunteered for numerous non-profit organizations in the region.   

Board Member Claudia Talmadge

Claudia Talmadge
District 4
School Districts Represented:
Coupeville, Lakewood, Mukilteo, Oak Harbor, South Whidbey, Stanwood-Camano

Claudia is a former school board member for the Oak Harbor School District and taught classes for the Skagit Valley College Whidbey Campus Academic Skills Center.

Board Member Dr. Alan Erickson

Dr. Alan Erickson
District 5
School District Represented
: Everett

Dr. Erickson maintains a private dental practice in Arlington.

Cory Duskin

Cory Duskin
District 6
School Districts Represented
: Arlington, Granite Falls, Index, Marysville, Sultan



Claudia Buxton

Claudia Buxton
District 7
School Districts Represented
: Edmonds, Mukilteo

Claudia is the former Director of the Sno-Isle Skills Center and has extensive experience working with schools in Snohomish County.

Board Member Gordon W. Griggs

Gordon W. Griggs
District 8
School Districts Represented
: Edmonds, Mukilteo

Gordon is an Administrative Law Judge for the Social Security Administration.

Board Member Merle Kirkley

Merle Kirkley
District 9
School Districts Represented
: Lake Stevens, Monroe, Snohomish

Merle is the Director of Educational Sales and Service for the Charles Beresford Company. He is also a former Snohomish School District board member and employee.


The Northwest Educational Service District 189 is committed to providing access to all individuals, with or without disabilities, seeking information on our website. Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act requires that all individuals with disabilities have access to and use of information and data, comparable to that provided to individuals without disabilities unless an undue burden would be imposed on us. Throughout this website, we make use of different third-party websites, PDFs, and applications to provide information about our agency and to connect our staff and visitors to various educational resources and services. Some of these PDFs, applications, and sites are not controlled by the NWESD. 

Please contact us at 360-299-4000 or if because of a disability you are unable to access content on the NWESD’s website, have questions about the accessibility of content or technology used by the NWESD, and/or would like to report barriers to accessing any information on this website. Or if you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader, eye tracking device, voice recognition software, etc.) and have difficulty accessing information on our website, please contact us and provide the URL of the material you tried to access, the problem you experienced, and your contact information. We will contact you and attempt to provide the information you are seeking. If you are a person with another disability and experience issues accessing information from the NWESD website. 

Copyright 2018. Northwest Educational Service District | 1601 R Avenue  Anacortes, WA 98221 | ph: 360-299-4000  fx: 360-299-4070  Back to Top

Back to Top