NWESD Services Menu

2018 Schools of Distinction Announced

2018 Schools of Distinction Announced

Ninety-one schools from across Washington State are being recognized with the 2018 School of Distinction awards, with 12 schools from the Northwest Educational Service District 189 (NWESD) Region. Currently, in its 12th year, the School of Distinction (SOD) awards are for sustained improvement over a five-year period in English language arts (ELA), math, and graduation rates.

The 91 schools represent 51 elementary, 20 middle/junior high, and 20 high schools. The schools span all regions of the state, from large urban to small rural communities and represent all nine Educational Service Districts (ESDs). The Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE) in partnership with the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD), Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP), Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA) and the Washington State Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development (WSASCD) have recognized schools in the top 5% of improvement for their levels. Elementary and middle schools are recognized for sustained improvement in ELA and math achievement. High schools are recognized for sustained improvement in graduation rate over the past five years.

NWESD Superintendent Larry Francois will be presenting each award recipient in the NWESD with the banner at an upcoming board meeting held at each school.

12 Schools of Distinction in the NWESD Region

* Darrington Elementary School (Darrington School District)

* Darrington Elementary School – Middle School (Darrington School District)

* Edmonds Elementary School (Edmonds School District)

* Garfield Elementary School (Everett School District)

* Central Elementary School (Ferndale School District)

Lynden Academy (Lynden School District)

* Clear Lake Elementary School (Sedro-Woolley School District)

Mary Purcell Elementary School (Sedro-Woolley School District)

* Cathcart Elementary School (Snohomish School District)

* Centennial Middle School (Snohomish School District)

* Seattle Hill Elementary School (Snohomish School District)

* Elger Bay Elementary School (Stanwood-Camano School District)

Indicates repeat winners

The Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE) is a service, consulting, and research organization dedicated to the mission of
partnering with K‐12 schools to improve student learning. For additional information, please contact:

For more information please contact:

Jennifer Jones, CEE President
Email: Jennifer@effectiveness.org
Phone: (425) 947‐5282

The NWESD, located in Anacortes, is one of nine Educational Service Districts in Washington State. The NWESD serves 35 school districts in Whatcom, Skagit, Snohomish, Island, and San Juan counties; providing leadership and cooperative services to the educational communities in the northwest region. For more information about the NWESD, please visit www.nwesd.org.

For more information contact:

Jessica Haag, NWESD Communications Specialist
jhaag@nwesd.org | (360) 299-4714